MessageAgent
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog

BUYER GUIDE

Best customer service software for small business: 12 AI customer service platforms compared on what the AI really costs

Twelve platforms compared on the number the roundups leave out: what the AI costs on top of the seat price, and what each vendor has to do before it can bill you for it.

See it answer ↓
WhatsApp SMS Instagram Messenger Web chat Email
Conversation Console
Example output
Channel
Pick a customer message

Tap a customer message above. The same AI agent replies on , in your brand's voice.

AI is typing…
AI assistant
Action card auto-handled
Intent
Action
CRM

Handed to a human teammate

They pick up with the full conversation and context carried over. No dead ends, no repeating.

Sample conversation, not customer data.

Discloses AI on every chat
TCPA and WhatsApp-policy compliant
Human handoff built in
Flat pricing, no markup

Here is the short answer. Every roundup of the best customer service software compares the seat price, and the seat price is no longer where the money is. The AI is billed separately, in a different unit at almost every vendor, and that unit decides your bill far more than the per-agent rate does. We priced the same workload, 3,000 issues a month handled by AI, across twelve platforms. It comes to about $150 at Front, $600 at Richpanel, roughly $1,225 at Freshdesk, $2,250 at Help Scout and $2,970 at Fin, the company formerly called Intercom. Same work, a twentyfold spread, decided entirely by which meter you signed.

Six different units are in play across this set: per seat, per resolution, per conversation, per AI session, per ticket, and flat. A list of monthly prices that ignores this is not a comparison, it is a coincidence. So the table below leads with the billing unit and the date we read each figure off the vendor's own pricing page.

The layer underneath is stranger, and it is the part almost nobody checks before signing. When a vendor charges per resolution, the definition of a resolution is the contract. Gorgias documents that an interaction counts as automated if the customer does not need a human within 72 hours of it, and it bills a ticket fee and an automation fee as two separate charges. Fin counts a resolution when no further help is requested after its last answer, and states plainly that you are not charged when a conversation is simply passed to your team. Freshdesk does not bill resolutions at all, it bills sessions, and an email session is a 72-hour window rather than a solved problem. Those three definitions produce three different invoices from identical support volume.

A note on what we could not get. Zendesk publishes Suite Team at $55 and Suite Professional at $115 per agent per month on the annual term, and says its AI agents are priced on the outcomes they deliver, but it puts no dollar figure for an automated resolution on the pricing page at all. Zoho Desk served us rupee pricing rather than US pricing when we fetched it, so we do not quote a US number for it. Where a vendor does not publish something we have written that instead of borrowing a figure from someone else's blog.

MessageAgent is the flat option in this table and we will be straight about the trade. We charge $79, $199 and $499 a month with the AI conversations included and carrier and Meta fees passed through at cost, so 3,000 AI conversations sits inside the $199 plan and the bill does not move when a good month arrives. If you need deep ticketing workflows, a large agent org with granular permissions, or an established app marketplace, a mature help desk will serve you better than we will. What we are built for is one AI persona that answers, qualifies, books and upsells across SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Facebook DM, web chat and email on a single thread, without a meter that charges you more for succeeding.

Side by side

Customer service software compared on seat price, AI billing unit and what 3,000 AI-handled issues costs

Read the billing unit column before the price column. It is what decides the invoice once the AI starts working, and across this set the same 3,000 AI-handled issues a month range from about $150 to about $3,000 before a single seat is counted. Figures were read off each vendor pricing page on the dates shown.

Platform Seat price How the AI is billed Cost of 3,000 AI-handled issues per month Verified
MessageAgent $79, $199, $499 per month flat, no per-seat charge Flat. AI conversations are included in the plan, carrier and Meta fees passed through at cost $199, because 3,000 sits inside the 5,000 included on the Growth plan Our own published pricing
Front $25 Starter, $65 Professional, $105 Enterprise per seat per month on the annual term Autopilot is tiered by outcome: $0.05 triage, $0.39 handoff, $0.89 full resolution, charged once at the highest outcome. Copilot is a further $20 per seat From about $150 plus seats. The $0.05 headline is the triage rate, not the resolution rate Re-verified August 22, 2026
Richpanel $99 per seat per month $0.20 per AI-handled conversation, where a conversation is the whole back and forth thread rather than a single message About $600, plus seats August 13, 2026
Freshdesk $19 Growth, $55 Pro, $89 Enterprise per agent per month on the annual term Freddy AI Agent bills per session, first 500 included, then $49 per 100 sessions. AI Copilot is a separate $29 per agent per month About $1,225 if sessions map one to one, but they do not: a session is an interaction, and an email session is a 72-hour window August 16, 2026
Help Scout Free for 5 users, then $25 Standard, $45 Plus, $75 Pro per user per month AI Answers billed at $0.75 per resolution. AI Drafts and AI Assist are included at no extra charge About $2,250, plus seats August 16, 2026
Re:amaze $29, $49, $69 per user per month $0.85 per additional resolution once the plan allowance is used Up to about $2,550, plus seats Checked July 2026, treat as indicative and confirm before signing
Gorgias No per-agent seat charge. Plans scale on ticket volume, from 50 to 5,000 tickets a month Two separate meters: a ticket fee on any ticket the helpdesk sends a message in, plus an automation fee when the AI resolves one About $2,700 on the annual rate to $3,000 monthly, and the ticket fees stack on top of that Billing rules verified August 16, 2026. Dollar rates are from July 19, 2026 because the rate table is JavaScript rendered
Fin, formerly Intercom Essential, Advanced and Expert seat tiers, not itemized on the Fin pricing page $0.99 per resolution. Not charged when a conversation is simply passed to your team without an outcome About $2,970, plus seats, the most expensive AI meter here August 16, 2026
Zendesk $55 Suite Team, $115 Suite Professional per agent per month paid yearly. Enterprise is quote only AI agents included in every Suite and Support plan, priced on the outcomes they deliver. No dollar rate appears on the pricing page Not published. Independent trackers quote figures, we will not repeat one Zendesk does not state August 16, 2026
LiveAgent $15, $29, $49, $69 per agent per month annual list, discounted to $10, $19, $33, $46 at the time we looked AI agents included with each plan, with no separate published AI meter No published AI charge, but each social channel is an add-on: $39 a month per channel, and Instagram needs Facebook plus a further $19 August 16, 2026
Tidio Free tier, then $24.17 Starter, from $49.17 Growth, Plus from $300 Usage based above the Plus tier Not comparable at this volume without a quote Checked July 2026
Zoho Desk Not quoted here. The pricing page served us Indian rupee pricing rather than US pricing AI Agents available from the Express tier with up to 30 million free tokens a month, a token meter rather than a resolution meter Not comparable: tokens do not convert to resolutions without knowing your average conversation length August 16, 2026

Read on the dates shown against each vendor pricing page or billing documentation. Where a vendor does not publish a figure we say so rather than filling the gap. Prices change, so re-check anything you are about to sign. All names are trademarks of their respective owners and appear here for comparison only.

What you get

Everything one AI agent handles

1

Compare the billing unit first, the seat price second

Six units are in play across this category: per seat, per resolution, per conversation, per session, per ticket, and flat. Two products with the same $55 seat price can bill four figures apart once the AI is working, because one includes AI outcomes and the other charges $0.99 each. Work out your monthly AI-handled volume, multiply it by each vendor unit, then look at the seat price. Doing it the other way round is how buyers end up 30 to 60 percent over budget in year one.

2

Get the definition of a resolution in writing

When you are billed per resolution, the definition is the contract. Gorgias documents that an interaction is automated if the customer does not need a human within 72 hours. Fin bills when no further help is requested after its last answer, and does not bill a plain handover to your team. A vendor charging $0.80 that only bills confirmed fixes can be cheaper than one charging $0.99 that bills every conversation the AI touched. Ask for the definition before you compare the unit prices.

3

Watch for meters that stack

Gorgias is the clearest example of a structure buyers miss. Its own billing documentation describes a ticket as billable when any message goes out from the helpdesk, human or AI, and then adds an automation fee on top when the AI resolves the issue. That is two meters running on the same conversation. The headline that pricing never depends on agent count is true and still leaves you with a per-ticket bill.

4

Count the channels you actually need

Cheap seat pricing sometimes means the channels are sold separately. LiveAgent lists social integrations at $39 a month per channel, and Instagram requires the Facebook integration plus another $19. Add three channels and the effective price of the cheapest plan in this table more than doubles. Check what the plan covers before comparing it to a product that includes every channel.

5

A per-resolution meter charges you more for succeeding

This is the structural problem with usage-priced AI support, not a complaint about any one vendor. The better your knowledge base gets and the more work you shift to the AI, the larger your invoice, so the savings you were sold are partly clawed back by the pricing model. Flat pricing puts the gain from a well-tuned AI in your pocket instead. That is the trade we built around, and it is worth modeling both ways at your real volume.

6

One thread beats one more inbox

Most of this category grew out of email ticketing and bolted channels on, so a customer who messaged on Instagram in March and emails in April arrives as a stranger. MessageAgent runs SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram DM, Facebook Messenger, web chat and email through one AI with shared memory and a lightweight CRM, so context follows the person rather than the channel. Compliance is handled in the same place: AI disclosed on every chat, TCPA opt-out and 10DLC, WhatsApp opt-in and templates.

Conversation Console

Try it on every channel

Pick a channel and a sample customer message, and watch the same AI agent reply on brand, take the action, log it to the CRM, and hand off to a human in one tap.

Conversation Console
Example output
Channel
Pick a customer message

Tap a customer message above. The same AI agent replies on , in your brand's voice.

AI is typing…
AI assistant
Action card auto-handled
Intent
Action
CRM

Handed to a human teammate

They pick up with the full conversation and context carried over. No dead ends, no repeating.

Sample conversation, not customer data.

Common questions

Best customer service software questions

What is the best customer service software?

There is no single best one, and any list that names a winner without asking your volume is guessing. The honest answer is that the best pick depends on how you want to pay for AI. Zendesk suits large teams with complex workflows, Help Scout suits a small team that wants a simple shared inbox, Gorgias suits Shopify stores, and flat pricing suits anyone whose AI volume is growing. Decide the billing unit first, then shortlist.

How much does customer service software cost?

Seats run from about $15 to $115 per agent per month, with Freshdesk from $19, Front from $25, Help Scout from $25, Zendesk from $55 and Richpanel at $99. The AI is the bigger number. At 3,000 AI-handled issues a month the AI charge alone ranges from about $150 at Front to about $2,970 at Fin, which is usually several times the seat bill.

What is the best customer service software for a small business?

For a small team, the deciding factors are the entry seat price and whether AI is included or metered. Freshdesk at $19 per agent and Help Scout at $25 per user are the cheapest genuine suites, and Help Scout has a free tier for up to five users. If your AI volume is significant, a flat plan will usually beat both once the per-resolution charges land, so run the numbers at your real volume rather than at the sticker price.

What counts as a resolution in AI customer service pricing?

It varies by vendor, which is exactly why it matters. Gorgias documents that an interaction counts as automated when the customer does not need a human agent within 72 hours of it. Fin counts a resolution when no further help is requested after its last answer. Freshdesk does not bill resolutions at all, it bills sessions, defined as a unique interaction between a user and the AI agent. Get your vendor definition in writing.

Is per-resolution or per-seat pricing cheaper?

Per-seat is cheaper when AI volume is high relative to headcount, and per-resolution is cheaper when volume is low and spiky. The crossover comes faster than most buyers expect. At $0.99 a resolution, 1,000 AI-handled conversations a month costs $990, more than most teams spend on seats. Model both at your busiest month, not your average one, because usage pricing hurts precisely when you are succeeding.

Does Zendesk charge per AI resolution?

Zendesk states that AI agents are included in every Suite and Support plan and are priced on the successful outcomes they deliver, which is an outcome-based meter. As of August 16, 2026 it does not publish a dollar rate for an automated resolution on its pricing page. Independent trackers circulate figures, but since Zendesk does not state one we would ask your sales contact to put the rate in writing.

What is the difference between customer service software and a help desk?

A help desk is the ticketing core: it captures requests, assigns them, tracks status and reports on them. Customer service software is the broader category that wraps a help desk in channels, automation, self-service and AI. In practice the words are used interchangeably by vendors, so ignore the label and check which of the two things you are actually buying, because ticketing depth and channel breadth rarely come in the same product.

What features should customer service software have?

In rough order of how much they change the outcome: the channels your customers already use, an AI that can answer rather than only deflect, a clean handoff to a human with full context, a shared view of the customer across channels, reporting you will actually read, and compliance handling for the regulated channels. Feature grids in this category look nearly identical, so compare on the billing unit and the handoff instead.

Is there free customer service software?

A few real free tiers exist. Help Scout is free for five users with one inbox and one docs site, capped at 100 contacts a month, Tidio has a free plan, and Freshdesk and Zoho Desk have historically offered free entry tiers. They are genuinely useful for a very small team. The limits bite quickly, and free tiers do not include the AI meter, so treat them as a trial of the interface rather than a long-term answer.

How do I switch customer service software without losing ticket history?

Export before you cancel, because access ends with the subscription at most vendors. Pull tickets, contacts, macros and knowledge base articles through the API rather than a CSV where you can, since CSV exports usually drop threading and attachments. Run both systems in parallel for two weeks with new conversations going to the new tool, keep the old one read only for a full billing cycle, then cancel.

Does customer service software integrate with Shopify?

Most do at some level, and the ecommerce-focused platforms go deepest: Gorgias and Richpanel let an agent see and act on orders inside the ticket. General help desks usually offer an order lookup app rather than full order actions. MessageAgent integrates with Shopify, Salesforce, Google Calendar and anything reachable through Zapier, so the AI can look up an order and answer a where is my order question without a handoff.

How many customer service platforms should I trial before choosing?

Two or three, and trial them on your real ticket mix rather than a demo script. The thing to test is not the interface, it is what the AI does with your ten most common questions and how cleanly it hands over the ones it cannot answer. Load your actual knowledge base, watch where it guesses, and check the billing dashboard partway through so you learn what the vendor is counting before it is your money.

Put one AI on every channel today

One agent that answers, qualifies, books, and upsells across every channel, in one inbox.

Discloses AI · compliant · human handoff built in

We're onboarding new workspaces in small batches right now.