CONVERSATIONAL AI FOR USED CAR DEALERS
Conversational AI for used car dealerships: AI chat for used car dealers and independent lots, with published pricing
An AI that texts back, answers Facebook and Instagram DMs and website chat for an independent lot, qualifies on budget, trade and down payment, and books the visit. $199 a month flat for all channels, not $599 per rooftop.
Tap a customer message above. The same AI agent replies on , in your brand's voice.
- Intent
- Action
- CRM
Handed to a human teammate
They pick up with the full conversation and context carried over. No dead ends, no repeating.
Conversational AI for used car dealerships is software that answers a shopper's text, Facebook or Instagram DM or website chat within seconds, asks the questions a good salesperson asks (budget, down payment, trade, timeline), and books a visit to see a specific car. For an independent lot, the job is covering the hours when the owner is also the closer, the finance desk and the person who moves cars around the lot. MessageAgent does this across SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook Messenger, web chat and email from one inbox, for $199 a month flat on the Growth plan, or $159 a month billed yearly.
The category is built for franchise stores, and its prices show it. On 24 September 2026 we read the pricing pages of the dealer AI vendors that rank for this search. DealerAI publishes $599, $1,499 and $2,299 per rooftop per month. Revmo publishes $0.59 per resolved conversation plus $79 per agent per month. Matador, Drivee and Spyne publish no dealer price at all; Matador's and Drivee's pricing URLs return a 404. At DealerAI's entry tier, a one-lot independent pays $7,188 a year. On our Growth plan billed yearly the same lot pays $1,908, which is 3.2 times less than DealerAI's annual rate of $6,109.80.
We are honest about what that price leaves out. We do not answer phone calls, we do not sync a live inventory feed from your DMS or vAuto, and we do not write deals back to a CRM. You load the units you want the AI to talk about, along with your hours, your policies and your financing wording, and it answers only from that. If a franchise-grade inventory integration or voice AI is the requirement, the table below shows who sells it and what it costs.
Side by side
What conversational AI costs a one-lot used car dealer
Every price below was read first-hand from the vendor's own US site on 24 September 2026 (Podium on 18 September 2026). The year-one column is the published floor for one rooftop before usage, voice minutes or implementation fees. Vendors change pricing, so confirm on your order form.
| Vendor | Published price | Billing unit | Year one for one lot (floor) | What the price leaves out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MessageAgent Growth | $199/mo, or $1,908/yr billed yearly | Flat per account, 10 seats, 5,000 AI conversations a month | $1,908 yearly, $2,388 month to month | No phone calls, no live inventory feed or DMS write-back. Carrier and Meta fees pass through at cost |
| DealerAI Basic | $599 per rooftop per month, 15% off annual | Per rooftop, unlimited users | $7,188 monthly, $6,109.80 annual | Follow-up sequences, appointment reminders and lead re-engagement start on Reach |
| DealerAI Reach | $1,499 per rooftop per month, includes 5,000 SMS | Per rooftop, unlimited users | $17,988 monthly | Extra texts at $100 per 5,000. No voice AI |
| DealerAI All-in-One | $2,299 per rooftop per month | Per rooftop, unlimited users | $27,588 monthly | Voice AI billed per minute on top, rate not published |
| Revmo | $0.59 per resolved conversation plus from $79 per agent per month | Per agent plus usage | Depends on volume. 300 resolved conversations a month with one agent is $256/mo | One-time implementation fee, quoted after a call audit. Voice-first |
| Podium Pro | $599 per location per month (Core $399) | Per location, plus seats and numbers | $7,188 before fees | AI Employee add-on has no published price. $500 network optimization fee per location |
| Matador | Not published | Not disclosed | Not published | /pricing returns a 404. Price is given on a demo call |
| Drivee | Not published | Not disclosed | Not published | /pricing returns a 404 |
| Spyne | Not published | Tailored by inventory volume, rooftops and feature set | Not published | Pricing page carries no dollar figure |
Sources: dealerai.com/pricing (labeled Pricing, April 2026), revmo.ai/pricing, podium.com/pricing, matador.ai/pricing, drivee.ai/pricing and spyne.ai/pricing, all opened on the dates above. The Revmo example is our own arithmetic from its published starting rates: 300 x $0.59 + $79 = $256. A 404 on a pricing URL tells you nothing about the price, only that you will learn it on a sales call.
What you get
Everything one AI agent handles
Every car is a one-off, so the answer has to be about that car
A used lot has no model-year brochure to answer from. Shoppers ask whether the 2019 Accord with 61,000 miles is still there, whether it had one owner, and whether it has a clean title. The AI answers from the units and notes you load, and when a car has sold it says so and offers the closest match instead of going quiet.
Qualification that fits used car buyers
Franchise scripts ask about new versus used and which trim. Your buyer needs different questions: how much down, what they are trading and whether it is paid off, whether they need financing, and when they want to drive it home. The AI asks those in plain language and writes the answers into the conversation before a person picks it up.
It covers the hours an owner-operator cannot
On a small lot the person who would answer the 9:40 pm text is the same person who closed a deal at 6 and opens the gate at 8. The AI replies in seconds at night and on Sunday, books Saturday morning appointments, and leaves the thread in one inbox for whoever is in first.
Financing questions handled carefully
Buyers ask whether you finance with bad credit and what the payment will be. The AI gives only the wording you approve, for example that you work with several lenders and review every application, and never quotes a rate, a payment or an approval. Anything that sounds like a credit decision goes to a person, which keeps you on the right side of fair lending and advertising rules.
Facebook, Instagram and text in one thread
Independents get a large share of leads from Facebook Page messages and Instagram DMs, then the shopper switches to text. One AI covers Messenger, Instagram, SMS, WhatsApp, web chat and email, keeps one memory of the shopper, and hands off inside the same thread when a person should take over.
A price that does not scale with your success
$199 a month on Growth, or $159 billed yearly, for all channels, 10 seats and 5,000 AI conversations a month. No per-rooftop fee, no per-lead fee and no per-resolution meter, so a strong tax-refund season does not raise your bill. Starter at $79 covers WhatsApp, web chat and email only, so most dealers who text start on Growth.
Conversation Console
Try it on every channel
Pick a channel and a sample customer message, and watch the same AI agent reply on brand, take the action, log it to the CRM, and hand off to a human in one tap.
Tap a customer message above. The same AI agent replies on , in your brand's voice.
- Intent
- Action
- CRM
Handed to a human teammate
They pick up with the full conversation and context carried over. No dead ends, no repeating.
Common questions
Conversational AI for used car dealerships questions
How do used car dealerships use conversational AI?
Used car dealerships use conversational AI to answer every text, Facebook and Instagram message and website chat within seconds, including nights and weekends when a small lot has nobody free. It answers questions about specific units, asks about budget, down payment, trade and timeline, books the visit, and hands serious buyers to a salesperson with the full conversation attached.
How much does conversational AI cost for a used car dealership?
Published prices run from $199 to $2,299 a month for one lot. On 24 September 2026, DealerAI listed $599, $1,499 and $2,299 per rooftop per month, and Revmo listed $0.59 per resolved conversation plus $79 per agent. Matador, Drivee and Spyne publish no price. MessageAgent is $199 a month flat for every channel, or $1,908 a year.
Our used car lot gets texts and Facebook messages about the same cars at night and nobody answers until morning. Which platform can answer them and book the appointment?
You need a platform that runs one AI across SMS, Facebook Messenger and Instagram and books appointments inside the conversation. MessageAgent does this from one inbox for $199 a month: it answers questions about the units you load, asks about down payment and trade, offers open times, confirms the visit and sends a reminder, then leaves the thread for your team in the morning.
We are a small independent dealer with two salespeople and no BDC. Is conversational AI worth it at our size?
Usually yes, because the leads a two-person lot loses are the after-hours and weekend ones, and those are exactly what the AI covers. The test is simple arithmetic: at $199 a month, one extra car sold every few months from a lead that would have gone cold covers the year. Franchise-priced tools at $599 or more per rooftop need several.
Is there a car dealership chatbot alternative to Matador or DealerAI for a single lot?
Yes. Matador publishes no price and gives it on a demo; DealerAI starts at $599 per rooftop per month. For a single independent lot that needs text, social DMs and web chat answered and appointments booked, MessageAgent is $199 a month with no per-rooftop fee. Choose a dealer-specific vendor instead if you need live inventory sync, DMS integration or voice AI.
Can the AI answer questions about a specific car on my lot?
Yes, from the information you give it. You load the units you want it to discuss with the details buyers ask about (year, make, model, mileage, price, title status, notable features), plus your hours and policies. It answers only from that, and says it will check with a teammate when something is not covered. It does not pull a live feed from a DMS, so you update the list when cars sell.
Will the AI tell a buyer they are approved for financing?
No, and it should not. It shares only the financing wording you approve, such as that you work with several lenders, and collects what a finance manager needs next: rough down payment, trade details and preferred contact time. Rates, payments and approvals always go to a person, because those are credit decisions with legal consequences.
Does conversational AI work for buy here pay here dealers?
It works for the front of the process: answering inventory and hours questions, collecting down payment and income range where you ask it to, and booking visits. It should not discuss approval odds, rates or payment amounts, and it should hand any payment dispute or collections conversation to a person. Many buy here pay here customers prefer text, which suits a messaging AI.
Is texting car shoppers with AI legal in the US?
Yes, when you have consent and follow carrier rules. Business texting in the US requires 10DLC brand and campaign registration, the shopper must have opted in to receive texts, and every message must honor STOP. The AI replying to a shopper who texted you first is the lowest-risk case. Cold texting a purchased list is where dealers get into TCPA trouble.
What does MessageAgent not do for a used car dealership?
It does not answer phone calls, sync a live inventory feed from vAuto or your DMS, write deals to a CRM, pull credit or send marketing blasts to lists without consent. It is the messaging layer: it answers, qualifies and books across text and social channels. If voice or deep DMS integration is essential, compare the dealer-specific vendors in the table above.
Put one AI on every channel today
One agent that answers, qualifies, books, and upsells across every channel, in one inbox.
Discloses AI · compliant · human handoff built in